Where is groupthink taking us?

Discussion in 'IntroSpectrum' started by Riz, Oct 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Riz

Riz Well-Known Member

It's a long, sprawling read that touches on a number of subjects, but well worth it IMO.

It takes this individual story and uses it to question what effect the internet is having on us all. Read the rest here: Life after a Twitterstorm
    test
  2. tequila togorgeous

tequila togorgeous New Member

Maybe it's my frame of reference - I have no direct experience of society prior to the internet - but this type of article always strike me as enormously overblown. The internet has provided a new medium through which age old social dynamics unfold, but though they unfold in a far larger way, I cant see that this quantitative difference has produced much of qualitative difference nor can I see why it should.

Take the brief passage when he talks about how the impersonal nature of the internet makes us liable to act in ways we wouldn't in person. That's certainly true but it's just as true of phonecall or a letter. The realities of life which produce the difference in all cases havent been diminished by the internet. In person people are still want to blush, laugh, cry, and punch each other in the face. Given these stubborn, glaring and important differences why would we expect, as the writer seems to fear may happen, the way we conduct ourself on the internet to have a corrosive effect of how we conduct ourself in 'real life'?

And why would the internet produce more tribalism? You can, if you like, make a walled garden of the internet, only conversing with 'your' people and only reading 'your' writers and only consuming 'your' news media, but you could just as easily do that without the internet. What the internet has made easier is acquiring knowledge and access to a vast number of differing outlooks. On net that seems detrimental to tribalism, not a boon for it.
    test
  3. Nu'maaN