Tale of Tha Fucked Up Quality On An $6000+ Setup...Help Me Solve This Mystery ANYONE

Discussion in 'Audio Help & Tips' started by *Twisted*, Aug 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. *Twisted*

    *Twisted* aka Black Knight

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    Aaight...AON, EYE-O, Anyone.....An I Really Do Mean Anyone With Knowledge...
    I Like To Call This....
    "Tha Tale of Tha Fucked Up Quality On A $6000 Thousand Dolla Setup"...[vomit]

    Yall know me....I dropped 6g's on my setup and my quality aint even close to where it should be.....What am I doin wrong?...:screwy:

    In This topic ima post ABSOLUTELY everythang I do from Start to finish...
    From my Equipment Settings, To My Recordin, & Mixdown Techniques...
    Plus I Got Pictures of Everythang.....
    We gon get ta tha bottom of this playas...
    [whip]

    Help Me Solve This Lil Mystery.....:Eyecrazy:

    EQUIPMENT SETTINGS:

    AKG SOLIDTUBE MICROPHONE:

    [​IMG]
    In this picture, you can see the side of the microphone....there is a DB switch for "0DB" or "-20DB"...I leave it on "0DB"

    [​IMG]

    On The Power Supply There is a Knob on the front that gives you two options,
    One option is "Lin." The Other option is a symbol like this /--- ......I have it set on option two which is the Symbol like this /---
    (Supposedly This Is A 100Hz Highpass Filter Switch)...I'm assuming this is what I Need Ta Have It Set On?? Correct?

    [​IMG]
    This Is The Ground Lift Switch On Tha Back Of The Power Supply. It Has A Press In Button To Either Leave The Ground Lift "Open" or "Closed" I leave The Button Pressed Out so That Means I Leave The Ground Lift "Closed"
    I Have No Idea What This Is...and It Dont Say Shit In The manual.

    [​IMG]
    When I record, I DO NOT use the windscreen, and I rap about 6-8 inches away from the mic into the pop filter

    B.L.U.E. Robbie Preamp

    [​IMG]
    I Have My AKG Solidtube Mic going into the AKG solidtube Power supply with the
    AKG Mic Cord That Came With The Solidtube & Power Supply. I Then Have Mogami Gold Cables Going From The Power Supply To The Robbie Preamp & From Tha Robbie Preamp Into My Lynx-Two-A Soundcard on Input 1. When I"m Recordin, I have My Gain on My Robbie On The 3rd To Last Ball As You Can See In The Picture..So It Aint Even Cranked All The Way Up.

    [​IMG]
    On The Back of The Robbie is 4 Buttons...In The Manual It Says What They Are But NOT What They Do...
    These 4 Buttons Are...(First From Left To Right) 1. +48v (For Phantom Power) 2. Mic or Instrument Setting. 3. 0DB or -20DB 4. 0 (With Line Through It) or "REV" (Whats "REV"?)

    I Left All 4 Buttons Pressed Out Meaning....Heres my Settings....
    1. No +48v Phantom Power (Figured I Didn''t Need It)
    2. Mic
    3. 0DB
    4. 0 (With Line Through It) (whateva that means)

    Lynx-Two-A Soundcard: (4 Ins/4 Outs)
    [​IMG]
    I Got My Microphone & Preamp Going Into This (Mic ---> Power Supply ---> Pre ---> Soundcard) Through Input 1. I Got My Two Mackie HR824 Monitors Going Out Through Outputs 1 & 2. (All Mogami Gold Cables) (Except SOLIDTUBE CABLE THAT CAME WITH MIC & POWER SUPPLY)

    Heres My Soundcard Settings: (Click The Pics Twice For Extra Detail)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    RECORDIN:

    1. I Use Adobe Audition v1.5 To Record
    2. I Record in 16 Bit Mono (To Get Sound Out Both Mackie Monitors)

    Heres My Booth: Auralex Max Wall 1141vb
    [​IMG]

    MIXDOWN:

    Heres The Process I Use On My Vocals From Start To Finish:

    1. Dynamics Processing - Compress 2:1, Thresholds -16DB, Attack/Release Tab
    Output Gain 4DB, Attack Time 1ms, Release Time 500ms, Input Gain 0DB,
    Attack Time 0.5ms, Release Time 300ms, Click RMS, Lookahead Time 3ms
    2. Hard Limiting - Limit Max Amplitude -0.1DB, Boost Input by 4DB,
    Lookahead Time 7ms, Release Time 100ms, Click (Link Left + Right)
    3. Filters - Graphic Equalizer - 20 Band Classic V
    4. Filters - Parametric Equalizer - R&B Groove
    5. Dynamics Processing - De-Esser (Hard) - Adjust Frequencies 1hz-25000hz
    6. Reverb - Natural Reverb
    7. Normalize - 80%
    8. Noise Reduction - (Set Noise Reduction to "1%")

    Finally In Mixdown:
    I Triple Up The Vocals (x3)

    1st: Leave Normal,
    2nd:pan 100% Left
    3rd: Pan 100% Right

    After That I Adjust Tha Levels in Tha Instrumental & Vocals And I'm Done
    With Tha Song. [fuc]


    I NEED AS MUCH FEEDBACK, COMMENTS, CRITICISM, OPINIONS, IDEAS AS POSSIBLE......I Have A PRETTY PRICEY SETUP AND I SHOULD BE GETTIN MUCH
    BETTER QUALITY THEN WHAT MY MUSIC SHOWS. [shock]

    Heres Two Tracks That I Have Done With The Same Process As I Listed
    Above From Beginning To End. :thumb:

    Black Knight "Tha Movement Mixtape Introduction"

    Black Knight "Tha Movement"

    I GOTTA FIND OUT WHATS WRONG HERE PLAYAS..FA REAL FA REAL...
    HOLLA BACK
    test
  2. AllOrNothinEnt

    AllOrNothinEnt Retired from Rapmusic.com

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,220
    #1. Where the mons?
    #2. I told U about that mic, maybe being too warm...
    #3. Your mixing skills could simply be lacking, plus, your room acoustics may be giving you a false sense of overall mix.
    test
  3. AllOrNothinEnt

    AllOrNothinEnt Retired from Rapmusic.com

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,220
    And whoa at your process... stop doing that, your compressing FIRST?
    What the fuck?

    Look, never use a process.
    Record RAW, adjust eq if needed, slight compression.. that should be IT son.
    So record a track over again, with raw quality, as clean as U can get it, and let's go from there...cause that process is killin U.
    test
  4. *Twisted*

    *Twisted* aka Black Knight

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    AON...

    Well I mean..Can You Read DEEPER INTO THIS? Thats A pretty
    Simple Answer...Especially From A Guy of Your Knowledge...

    Are All my Equipment Settings Correct? Am I Overprocessing
    My Shit? Did You check Out My Mixdown Process? Am I doing
    Anything Incorrectly? Maybe Incorrect Order? Is My Equipment
    Set Up Wrong? Are Any Of My Settings Set Incorrectly?

    I Need SOMEONE TO GO DEEP INTO THIS WITH ME....NOT Just
    Some 3 Line Bullshit Answers...

    I REALLY NEED SOME HELP HERE.....

    It WOULD BE REALLY MUCH APPRECIATE....

    I MEAN FUCK...I'LL EVEN PAY CATS MONEY IF THATS WHAT IT FUCKIN TAKES....

    I NEED TA GET TA THA BOTTOM OF THIS...

    HOLLA BACK
    test
  5. Kaotic33

    Kaotic33 Owns You

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,585
    lol that sounds weird as fuck... really robotic

    by the way how much did that booth cost you?
    test
  6. *Twisted*

    *Twisted* aka Black Knight

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    ^^^^ So You Sound Like Every Otha Corny White Boy On Tha Net....Whats Your Point?

    Dumb Mutha Fuckas Like This Dont Even Belong In This Post....

    Go Look It Up On Tha Net...Names Right There In Front Of You...Fuck Outta Here
    test
  7. *Twisted*

    *Twisted* aka Black Knight

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    AON....Ok So your saying my process is fucked up.....is my equipment incorrectly set up?
    Did you check out some of those settings like the phantom power etc? .....Is my equipment configured fine? I gotta raw untouched acapella's from both tracks.....you say to never compress first? What do you usually do after you record a song? what about normalizing?

    Holla Back
    test
  8. Arcane

    Arcane Alcoholic Roadie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,894
    your. mixing. process. sucks.

    dont compress first, it should be the last thing you do
    test
  9. *Twisted*

    *Twisted* aka Black Knight

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    wow..Really? Dont Compress First?

    I NEVER Knew That...

    Ok...

    AS FAR As Mixing.....For Everything I do....What Order Should I Do Them
    In If Need Be?
    test
  10. Mr. Verbalist

    Mr. Verbalist How am I doin?

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,105
    Twisted, have you ever recorded a raw verse for everyone to hear. It looks to me that your mixing is all screwed up. Don't ever Normalize. And why do you EQ twice with different types of Equalizers? Also DO NOT use presets, such as your natural reverb settings and what not. Create your own. Also the hard limiting, you should almost never hard limit your vocals, ruins the shit outta dynamics. Those are all the problems I see. Record something raw and let us hear it. Only way we'll be able to help you.
    test
  11. *Twisted*

    *Twisted* aka Black Knight

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    aaight....no doubt...

    I'll have somethin up tonight
    test
  12. HeXuM

    HeXuM N.E.R.D.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    544
    There is no set process which you should mix... it's a lot of hands on learnin.. and KNOWING what sounds good.. when you record there should be only a few things you do to your RAW vocals... EQ, small compression, reverb if needed in the sound YOU want... idk.. this probably doesnt help much.. but if you can just read on mixing and eq'n.. it'll help so you know WHAT your doing when you turn a certain nob.. it seems you want people to jus give you all the answers.. you're gonna have to help yourself before anyone else will..
    test
  13. *Twisted*

    *Twisted* aka Black Knight

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    I CAN Dig that.....thats whats up...I'm throw up some raw vocals tonight...

    see whats up

    so usuallu it should go in that order?

    EQ, Compress, Reverb? If Needed.?...
    test
  14. Kaotic33

    Kaotic33 Owns You

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,585
    "I NEED AS MUCH FEEDBACK, COMMENTS, CRITICISM, OPINIONS, IDEAS AS POSSIBLE......I Have A PRETTY PRICEY SETUP AND I SHOULD BE GETTIN MUCH
    BETTER QUALITY THEN WHAT MY MUSIC SHOWS."

    lol @ you getting all defensive cuz i said your quality doesnt sound that good even though you admitted it yourself. others critique it and you don't care. i say 1 comment and you explode.

    haha you need to calm down it was just a simple question... i know the retail price of the booth you dumb shit i was looking into it a long time ago. however that was not the question, the question was how much did YOU pay for it... i'm surprised someone who can't even read correctly has the knowledge to earn enough money to buy $6,000 worth of equipment but then again minimum wage at mcdonalds doesn't require much thought.
    test
  15. Mr. Verbalist

    Mr. Verbalist How am I doin?

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,105
    I always thought if you EQ'd first then compressed, the compression would enduce a bassier bottom-end, depends on how much you compress though. I don't know though.
    test
  16. Kaotic33

    Kaotic33 Owns You

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,585
    the problem is in your mixing not equipment, don't do a ton of processing just because you CAN sometimes less is more. noise reduction should be the very first thing that you do (you have it last) and setting it to 1% doesn't do JACK SHIT. stop using presets especially that 20 band classic graphic eq because it takes a lot away from the mids (which is bad) and boosts the bass (which makes it sound muddy) and hi's like crazy (which causes harsh s's).
    test
  17. Mr. Verbalist

    Mr. Verbalist How am I doin?

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,105
    Use Parametric EQ because Graphic EQ's are already set and adjusted bands, so you can ONLY adjust those certain bands. Graphic EQ really serves no purpose since there's a parametric EQ.
    test
  18. Kaotic33

    Kaotic33 Owns You

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,585
    if you go into the 30 band graphic eq you can get pretty close but yeah i also prefer parametric eq.
    test
  19. HeXuM

    HeXuM N.E.R.D.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    544
    Here is what I do in order to my raw vocals, this is MY standard of what I always do. And I think I said something in my 1st post wrong.. I mean there is no process in the production part.. but the recording process and sometimes editing there IS... here goes homie..

    1.Record vocals...
    2.Noise Reduction...
    3.Silence & Delete...
    4.Compression...
    5.EQ...

    .. Everything after that is just KNOWING what sound you want as far as effects. Knowing HOW to compress vocals, HOW to bring out the sound with Eq'ing, and mixing/layering your tracks volumes, etc.
    test
  20. Arcane

    Arcane Alcoholic Roadie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,894
    with the equipment he has, he shouldnt even need half the stuff he's doing...like noise reduction

    it's pointless unless your using a shitty mic

    all i ever use is eq for certain frequencies that i want to cut/boost, reverb sometimes and compression

    nothing more
    test
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)