seeking comments from those in college or who have finished

Discussion in 'IntroSpectrum' started by Shit with corn in it IRM'S BITCH, Nov 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Well this is probably more for the people who have done joint honours, but it applies to anyone who can give me advice on going through academia.

I am in my last year, and will be finishing in early june. I chose English because I like writing, and reading and thought It might help me get a job, and I chose social science because of its breadth, i.e. I could learn some philosophy, political science, economics, sociology, psychology, anthropolgy etc etc. Well to cut a long story short I feel I've reached a crossroads, because I don't know 1.) which subject I prefer 2.) if I want to do a masters or not, and if so in which subject. My grades are good enough to pursue one of these avenues, but I feel it is hard to make a decision. I have thought about everything from Teaching, Journalism, to living a lowly life as a poet and giving my life to that. People have also said that maybe I should do something more vocational, i.e. more of a guarantee of a job at the end and and maybe goto law school, but I don't know what to do at this point.

I know some things in life end up choosing you, but with my graduation fast approaching It is now forcing my choice, and i'm running out of time.

any advice?

Thanks
    test
  2. Red1

Red1 A Figure of Speech

you're not running out of time. you dont have to jump right into grad school/law school immediately after you finish your undergrad work. Take some time to travel, work, write perhaps, then make go back to school when you have a better idea of what you want to do with your life.
    test
  3. UnbrokeN

UnbrokeN Well-Known Member

menaz will know the answer to all your questions
    test
  4. test
  5. Time flies, man.

Gratz on your last year. Hope all is well.