Sacrifice: A Friend or Your Woman? Where is the line drawn?

Discussion in 'Man Enough' started by TsirhCitna, Mar 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TsirhCitna

TsirhCitna New Member

I don't mean this in the sense that, as soon as you get into a serious relationship, you cut off all ties with your friends.

What I mean is, has anyone here ever sacrified someone they once considered a friend due to a female?

I'll set a very good example of what I'm talking about here.

Basically, all throughout high school I was this obnoxious weed-smoking dickhead. I had my three other pothead friends that I was always smoking up with. They knew this other guy from elementary school.

When I graduated from high school, I stopped all the weed smoking shit. Besides blazing every day, I'm really a nerd. I've always loved video games and that's what the bulk of my teens consisted of besides blazing. I think the zenith of enjoyment in my life was, no joke, ordering an ounce of white widow and playing through The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time for the N64.

Anyways, this isn't about bragging about how much weed I smoked or some ridiculous garbage like that. What that purpose of this topic is that beneath the obnoxious weed-smoker, after I graduated from high school, I was just a nerd and so was this other guy that my friends knew from elementary.

So we started talking and it turned out that we had similar senses of humour and taste in video games. We thought the same and we had psychological similarities. We shared a lot of similar outlooks and all that. He was a really good friend for a while.

At some point, he wanted to start smoking weed and playing some video games. I thought, whatever, I'm pretty much a full-fledged nerd at this point, all I do is play video games and go to school. Might as well let loose for a little while.