[!] Normalize

Discussion in 'Audio Help & Tips' started by Sick Artist Ent, Jan 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sick Artist Ent

    Sick Artist Ent New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    What does it do EXACTLY?
    test
  2. doctah

    doctah I know how to do that...

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,748
    scans your audio for a peak
    figures out what change in volume would be needed to take that peak to your normalization value (normally 100)
    applies that change in volume across the entire song/selection

    ex. Let's say you have a song. The loudest peak is -3db. You normalize to 100%. It would be the same thing as increasing the volume of the entire track by 3db.

    (at least...that's the implementation in CEP...just a lazy man's volume knob)
    test
  3. Xabiton

    Xabiton RM Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    17,221
    ^basically. it just moves the loudest point of the song to 0db and moves everything else up accordingly. its good if u like to mix low (around -3db) then normalize. atleast thats what I do
    test
  4. Arcane

    Arcane Alcoholic Roadie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,894
    it's useless, that's what it is :p
    test
  5. Sick Artist Ent

    Sick Artist Ent New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    test
  6. 7thSense

    7thSense New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    342
    if you got FL you can see what it does right in the sampler, hit the normalizer tab and it boosts the whole thing. I just had to batch normalize those Triton samples being sold, they were all real low, boosted the whole set.
    test
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)