New producers should know one thing....

Discussion in 'Audio Producers Discussions' started by RZA n Wu 36, Nov 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RZA n Wu 36

RZA n Wu 36 Member

I am by no means a producer to write home about... however the following is my new opinion of production after only 4 days of using my first hardware geared toward hip hop... let me tell u how it has affected me...

FL by itself is not the way to go... i have produced beats for 2 yrs with little improvement using FL and plugins for it. however, i am a musician and have played an instrument for 14 yrs! it puzzled me as to why my beats hadnt improved for this reason... unless u are very knowledgable about what all the effects and processors do and how to tweak them, it is much harder to make shit sound hot.... but with hardware, this is so much easier. i just got my first piece of hardware, an EPS 16+ sampler and it has already proven this to me, even though i have only scratched its surface! basically, in FL with drum samples, unless u know how to filter them properly (which def shouldnt be done with the fl filter) and do other shit to them, it makes the road to a hot beat so much harder... i had recently "mastered" the art of creating dope drum loops in fruity, however, on the EPS 16+ the drums blow these outta the water... invest in some hardware and it will payoff... now i like grimey drums, so i got the EPS 16+.. but im sure with out even trying them out all the other hardware that a lot of peeps on this board use will help any aspiring producer...