Making Beats With Samples?

Discussion in 'Audio Help & Tips' started by Rewind, Apr 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rewind

    Rewind New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    yo ive done it once
    but it was MMMMMMAAAAAAAD difficult the way i did it
    took FOREVER
    i did this:
    took the sample, chopped it up so the part i wanted to be looped was ready to be looped over and over..i did this in cool edit

    then, i took the loopable sample to acid, tried to beatmap it so iknew what tempo to use in fruity loops
    but i couldnte figure out the beatmapper exactly as close as u need to know

    so i jus put the sample in fruity loops and kept changin the tempo till the beat was matchin up wit the sample

    now I KNOW im doin it a very WRONG way

    somebody please explain a bettter way

    im guessin i should know how to use beatmapper in acid also
    please explain this to me too
    thanks alot

    if its easier for u ,
    AIM
    Rewindinthatass
    test
  2. veral conflict

    veral conflict beatsrus

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,402
    that used to be my problem..

    but now all i do is just use cool edit pro... n loop my sample in there.. lay my drums n bass in it.. n adjust with the tempo...

    trial n error.. n now its so easier to make sampled beats for me...
    test
  3. War Machine

    War Machine Sam Antics

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,001
    fuck looping..

    fuckin bootleg kanye/puffies..
    test
  4. urban_tactics

    urban_tactics aka johnny cockram

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24,807
    ^lol

    chop the loop with sound forge..........THEN load it in ACID...highlight the wav file in the explorer box, it will then show u the BPM.....manually type in the BPM of the sample that u see.......and then drag your loops out on the sequencer......voila, perfect loops.....and if you're taking multiple loops from the same song, just drag em out too, all the loops will be the exact same BPM.....then u shouldnt have make any adjustments in whatever it is u use to make beats.....
    test
  5. War Machine

    War Machine Sam Antics

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,001
    bla bla bla

    too many fuckin programs, u gon give urself an anurism or however u spell it

    take the sample into cool edit... stretch it (whichever way you like.. resampling is the best) and make it match the tempo of the drums you made (make them before hand, simple boom bap, then change them later to fit the melodiy if you like). then...chop the sample. thats all. arange the chops to the drums, throw a bassline over it. bam, done. since you stretched the sample before choppin it, the chops will have the riight length in notes, and it might even give u a differet pitch (if ur resampling in 'stead of time stretching) so that hides the sample even more, and might give u that oh so famed hi pitched effect everyone loves.
    test
  6. urban_tactics

    urban_tactics aka johnny cockram

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24,807
    lmao.....too many progs, but your process was TWICE as long as mine...LMAO.
    test
  7. War Machine

    War Machine Sam Antics

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,001
    yeah...it was all in one program though...

    and the end result wont jus be a drumskeme over a sample loop on some uncreative puffy shit
    test
  8. Drschmalzy

    Drschmalzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,717
    a lot of people on here just find a dope sample from a song or something then put drums/bass over it, they don't even change it which to me is gay cuz its so easy to do...
    test
  9. doctah

    doctah I know how to do that...

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,748
    ...No Math Solution for finding BPM...
    In CEP:
    Highlight your sample.
    View > Display Time Format > Edit Tempo...
    Enter the number of bars and press "Extract"

    It will give you the BPM of the sample.


    ...Math Solution for finding BPM...
    Let's say your sample is 4 bars. 4 beats in a bar....so you got 16 beats. It lasts for exactly 10 seconds.
    16 beats per 10 seconds
    10 seconds x 6 = 1 minute
    16 beats x 6 = 96 BPM

    What if your loop lasts for 14.59 seconds and you want it to be 93 bpm...
    You want 93 beats/60 seconds = 16 beats/about 10.32258.....seconds

    Now resample or time stretch your sample to 10.32 seconds. Your sample is now 93bpm Do whatever you please with it...
    test
  10. War Machine

    War Machine Sam Antics

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,001
    he dont know how to count bars...i was jus tryin to teach him a similar method on aim

    an easier way, if u can count a 4 bar loop. is take a 4 bar loop out of the song u want to sample

    then make ur drums a 4 bar loop

    find the exact time when ur drum loop ends, then go to ur sample loop, highlight it, go to effects and stretching, then choose resample...put the number you got from the end of the drum loop in the "length" box on the stretching window. it should stretch it perfectly onbeat to the drums. undo the stretch on the loop, or if its a seperate file, go back to the song ur samplin, an make the whole song the same bpm as the loop u stretched (the last bpm used should be saved in the stretch window). now u can sample from anywhere in the song, chop shit up, etc etc, and any sample or chop will be the right length/tempo...and u can loop any sequence thats loopable from the song, and it will already be the right tempo as well, so u can jus throw it over the drums...even though, that would be gay, and id kill you.
    test
  11. Hyydro

    Hyydro ah yes yes yall

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,623
    lol @ two doc's
    test
  12. doctah

    doctah I know how to do that...

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,748
    Tee fucking hee....2 docs...

    How does someone not know how to count bars/beats?
    test
  13. veral conflict

    veral conflict beatsrus

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,402

    omfg.. thnx.. i wasted all my time.. adjustin my drums to make it fit on my samples... lmfao....

    THNX...lol..
    test
  14. urban_tactics

    urban_tactics aka johnny cockram

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24,807
    sigh........let me FALL BACK.....ya'll kno EVERYTHING....my beats are just hotter for NO apparent reason.....LMFAO........

    its easy to be creative......i can make a sand castle outta dog shit and be labeled "creative"

    i think thats a cop out and prolly why 90% of the music online is wack......stop tryin to be creative and make some hot shit.....creativity will come natural....stop tryin to force it.
    test
  15. War Machine

    War Machine Sam Antics

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,001
    fuck are u talkin about...

    choppin isnt "trying to be creative"

    its jus doing it the right way...

    90 percent of the beats online are loops over weak ass drums...thats why its wack...none of yhal flip shit
    test
  16. urban_tactics

    urban_tactics aka johnny cockram

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24,807
    since when was choppin the right way.......i go by sound...if it sounds better with a loop.....creativity goes out the WINDOW......fuck that......the only ppl cryin for creativity is ppl ONLINE......and i dont care about ya'll....LMAO....fuck that......if they wanna loop...let em loop, they did it back in the day, and they can do it now.....stop tryin to redefine hip hop, cuz u dont have the power to do it.......
    test
  17. veral conflict

    veral conflict beatsrus

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,402
    ^^exactly...

    if it sounds good.. keep it...
    test
  18. Syntax_Mastery

    Syntax_Mastery Emcee/Producer/Engineer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,891

    or instead of going through all taht complicated bullshit...

    you can just use fruity loops... and use the "fit" meter.

    [​IMG]

    vwwwahla!!!!!!!!


    16 for 2 to 3 second samples...
    32 for 5 to 6 second samples...
    64 for 10 to 12 second samples...
    or however you want to do it...

    but alot of the hassle of sequencing in the multitrack programs can be avoided.


    so easy...
    test
  19. Syntax_Mastery

    Syntax_Mastery Emcee/Producer/Engineer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,891

    if it aint broke dont fix it... thats how i see it.
    test
  20. BPINCdef

    BPINCdef Renaissance Man

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,161
    yea
    ive found tons of vocal samples, horns, and some piano
    horns i usually chop, same with vocals
    if by change u mean pitch-wise n all
    i try not to do that
    i think you get a really soulful, sometimes funky beat if you sample old stuff and dont mess with pitch much
    chopping of course always goes down
    test
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)