learned poets, please help

Discussion in 'Writer's Block' started by absolute zero, Apr 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. absolute zero

absolute zero Among the living

I've been studyin a bit lately, catchin up and learning my poetry. And i stumbled across this:

The rhythm of the poem should go as follows:

Lines 1, 2, 5: weak, weak, STRONG, weak, weak, STRONG, weak, weak, STRONG, weak, weak
    Lines 3, 4: weak, weak, STRONG, weak, weak, STRONG, weak, weak

What does weak strong mean?
    test
  2. RealMS

RealMS Ne te quaesiveris extra

to say I'm an honors student, I am not educated with this. (shocking) I bet UFO can help you on this.
    test
  3. I believe they are stressed and unstressed syllables.

Here is an introduction to meter, hope it helps.

The word "meter" comes from the Greek word for "measure." The term refers to a pattern of stressed and unstressed syllables in a poetic line. In English poetry, meter is determined by the number of stresses per line, and usually a poem written in metrical verse will keep to a basic, identifiable pattern, though variation may be achieved through deliberate substitution of different metrical feet into the basic pattern.

The conventional symbols used in scansion are / , to indicate a stressed syllable, and either X or a curved line like a shallow U, to indicated an unstressed syllable.

The metrical foot is the basic unit of meter. The most common metrical feet and their patterns of stressed and unstressed syllables are as follows:

iamb: X /

trochee: / X

anapest: X X /

dactyl: / X X

spondee: / /

pyrrhic: X X

The meter of a poem is determined by the predominant metrical foot, and by the number of feet per line that predominates in the poem. The following terms indicate the number of feet per line:

monometer: one foot per line

dimeter: two feet per line

trimeter: three feet per line

tetrameter: four feet per line

pentameter: five feet per line

hexameter: six feet per line