How have i setup my midi controller wrong???

Discussion in 'Audio Producers Discussions' started by A.S.K, Sep 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. A.S.K

    A.S.K ...

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,008
    ok

    so im pretty new to this whole producing thing, and i bought a midi controller today from my local shop

    i loaded up the driver and it plays and records in cubasis

    but when i hit they key there is almost half a second delay before i hear the note or it is recorded

    any help? these things are mad confusing

    cheers
    test
  2. BlaZeDemBeaTz

    BlaZeDemBeaTz 5 Letters - YMCMB

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    you need to adjust the asio buffer rate for your soundcard...your getting latency issues
    test
  3. A.S.K

    A.S.K ...

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,008
    yea i tryed that, i put the latency down to like 300 or summin and i sitll get the same problem

    i have no idea to link my midi to the channel i want
    test
  4. Xabiton

    Xabiton RM Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    17,221
    300ms is still very high get a different soundcard most music based ones offer 0 latency
    test
  5. A.S.K

    A.S.K ...

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,008
    ah right i see, i got a delta 44 so i will see if i can put it lower

    cheers
    test
  6. veral conflict

    veral conflict beatsrus

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,402
    simple..

    devices>device setup>vst multitrack/vst audiobay(for sx 3/ or nunedo 3)> then change ur drivers to m-audio delta asio..
    test
  7. BlaZeDemBeaTz

    BlaZeDemBeaTz 5 Letters - YMCMB

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    ^yup...your using the wrong driver thats why you cant lower it any further
    test
  8. A.S.K

    A.S.K ...

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,008
    ah right

    but these devices i change, are they on my main computer on in m-audio setup itslef
    test
  9. BlaZeDemBeaTz

    BlaZeDemBeaTz 5 Letters - YMCMB

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    it will be in cubase device setup settings...
    and your m audio delta control panel under hardware settings...
    in cubase you just wanna change it to m audio ASIO...
    and in your delta control panel...under hardware settings...change the DMA buffer siZE as low as possible
    test
  10. KanyeMiddleEast

    KanyeMiddleEast New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    BlaZeDemBeaTz weighs 190 pounds now, he was way slimmer in high school.
    One time, at age 16, his father smacked the sh*t out of him.

    That scarred him mentally, which is why all he does now is participate in drug use, and make beats. He's very anti-social.

    He resides in Philadelphia.
    test
  11. BlaZeDemBeaTz

    BlaZeDemBeaTz 5 Letters - YMCMB

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    vffbl or whatever your aim handle is^....

    STFU!!!
    test
  12. A.S.K

    A.S.K ...

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,008
    ok i think the reaosn im gettinf confused is cos i aint using cubase

    im using cubasis, this steinberg program that came wid my midi controller

    and i changed the DMA buffer and it still wont allow it lower than 300 and summin

    damn at this.....
    test
  13. KanyeMiddleEast

    KanyeMiddleEast New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Lol how come u switched ur screenname (on RM)?
    test
  14. BlaZeDemBeaTz

    BlaZeDemBeaTz 5 Letters - YMCMB

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    id reccomend getting a different prog then cuz...cubasis is like a watered down version of cubase...if you can try finding a copy of cubase sx 2 or better online...
    test
  15. A.S.K

    A.S.K ...

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,008
    ah right ok i will try that now, cos i think thats the problem

    cheers for your help man, its appreictaed

    nows let see if i cna find cubase??
    test
  16. KanyeMiddleEast

    KanyeMiddleEast New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    I'd reccommend Fruity Loops 5.0, or Cool Edit.
    test
  17. KanyeMiddleEast

    KanyeMiddleEast New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Blaze them beats also wheres a different pair of Timberland boots every day. He enjoys wearing gucci sneakers also.
    test
  18. A.S.K

    A.S.K ...

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,008
    aight the main problem i have is that in my M-audio controller setup i cant get the DMA buffer furhter down than 336, where as other people have it at 64

    any ideas???
    test
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)