Got any questions about Reason? Ask away..

Discussion in 'Audio Help & Tips' started by Ray Digga, Aug 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ray Digga

    Ray Digga NeosulOSkoolAbstrkHipHop

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    8,998
    Got any questions about Reason? Ask away....
    test
  2. Thomas P. Wong

    Thomas P. Wong LEGENDARY WONG-DINI

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6,382
    why do you suck so much at using it
    test
  3. Da Science2003

    Da Science2003 JC aint got shit on Sci

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,036
    Dear Mr. Digga, I am new to Reason, I have Reason 2.0 and am trying hard to figure out best way to use it. What advice can you give me on how to get started, I used Acid Pro 4.0 and samples you know, but I want to make a transition. Let me know sup.
    1
    Sci
    p.s. Wong your a biaaatch!!
    test
  4. Boywonder

    Boywonder New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,470
    <--never used it...but i am curious as to how's the midi sequencing using outboard gear...and is it intuitive/easy compared to cubase..
    test
  5. The Lyrical 187

    The Lyrical 187 The Superstar

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,313
    I have a question about the Rex looper. I play the preview of the loop and then tempo is set to a certain speed... then when i export the loop.. the tempo goes to what i have set on reason. Is there a way to keep the tempo the same or change it once i export it?
    test
  6. Ray Digga

    Ray Digga NeosulOSkoolAbstrkHipHop

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    8,998
    To be able to use Reason effectively you will need a fast computer, a pro level sound card and an USB midi keyboard. There is no getting around it. With the addition of sound FX modules and extras features, Reason can tax CPU pretty hard.

    For transitioning, find things Reason thats similar to what you use and go from there. Get comfortable with one device instead of tackling the whole program at once. The manual and helpfiles make for excellent resources.

    Learn about the main sequencer first. It ties everything together. Then take on the Redrum, then Dr.REX, then Subtraktor, then the NN-19...once you got those down well, then go after the souped up version of those modules like the NN-XT....

    Good Luck
    test
  7. Ray Digga

    Ray Digga NeosulOSkoolAbstrkHipHop

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    8,998
    As you know Reason doesnt use midi out, but through Rewire technology, you can use Reason like another module right along with your other hardware modules with Cubase. I've played with several program using Rewire, and Cubase was the most intuitive to learn. You basically treat it like a VSTi and go from there....


    Remember having both Reason and Cubase running at the same time can tax your CPU, so if you havent already, I recommend getting a 2GHz CPU or better.
    test
  8. Ray Digga

    Ray Digga NeosulOSkoolAbstrkHipHop

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    8,998
    No. The Dr. Rex plays at whatever the tempo of the main sequencer is set to. If you want the loop to play faster, then you will have to double the speed of the main sequencer tempo and sequence everything except the Dr. Rex at half the speed, meaning if your track is 24 bars at 70 BPMs before, it will be 48 bars at 140 BPMs afterwards, and your Dr.REx loop can play at 'normal speed'.

    Good Luck
    test
  9. Hitman J

    Hitman J lets get get get it....

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    10,065
    When you think they gonna have a fuckin midi out for reason


    that shit sucks usin it through cubase

    i like doin it all in one that'd be tight
    test
  10. Ray Digga

    Ray Digga NeosulOSkoolAbstrkHipHop

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    8,998
    Propellerheads probably wont do it. Its not in their best interest.
    test
  11. Auditory

    Auditory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,658
    I can't figure out how to make strong powerful string melodys in reason, any suggestions?
    test
  12. Hitman J

    Hitman J lets get get get it....

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    10,065
    borrow the melody from a demo song on the proppelerhead site?
    test
  13. Boywonder

    Boywonder New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,470

    so you mean to tell me after all this time i've been hearing the hype about reason...it doesnt even have midi out!? Well i guess that defeats the purpose of me even trying it out...i was only considering trying it out to see how the midi sequencing is for my module/keyboard..i was hoping to find out it was easier/more intuitive...oh well....not really insterested in its sounds/synthesis...i guess it would be nice for peeps that use the sounds and synthesizer within it though...i guess i'll stick to Fl studio and cubase....
    test
  14. Auditory

    Auditory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,658
    yeah that is pretty wierd, why the hell does reason not have midi out? ima make a topic about it at the propellerheads.se board
    test
  15. Hitman J

    Hitman J lets get get get it....

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    10,065
    Shit it'd be tight is fuck if it did

    So i can hook my module directly with it instead of all that fuckin rewire bullshit
    test
  16. Hitman J

    Hitman J lets get get get it....

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    10,065
    maybe if we got enough folks to say they wanted to add a midi out we could get it??/

    Hmmmmm
    test
  17. The PusherMan

    The PusherMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,986
    DOPE thread..im gonna have some questions later..
    test
  18. the_P.L.O

    the_P.L.O Cunt

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,621
    what use does the nn19 have when i only ever use the nn-xt?
    test
  19. Auditory

    Auditory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,658
    you can load any .wav into the nn19
    test
  20. the_P.L.O

    the_P.L.O Cunt

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,621
    you can do that with the nnxt too?
    test
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)