*Explain Yourself*

Discussion in 'Poetry Realm' started by Mind~$oul, Aug 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mind~$oul

Mind~$oul I'm Pretty

Since the realm has been overwhelmed with a lot of new poets as of late. I figure this would be the best opportunity to make this thread where we all can introduce ourselves to the realm. There's people who have been posting in this place for years and I know nothing about hardly. So I'll start it off!

Of course I've been posting under the name Mind~$oul since 2001. I orginally started posting here on this site under the name Verbal Conflict back in 1999 when I was 15. So I've been here for a looooooooooooong time.

Mind-Really came out of people saying I thought "deep" when I use to rap. I eventually stopped rapping though because the group I was in at the time began to complain that I was too "poetic". Haven't rapped since 2000.

Soul-A name I got from my mother(r.i.p) and grandfather. They said out of all the kids in the family I was the only one who loved all that old school music they use to play in the house lol. From Coltrane, to Sam Cooke, Marvin Gaye, Bootys Collins, Curtis Mayfield, Al Green, Dorothy Moore, Bobby Womack. The list goes on. I loved all of it and I still listen to those artist till this day.

So that's how the name Mind Soul came about. A lot of people though in my city call me "Boon". A nickname I done had since like 9th or 10th grade. I got that name because everybody thinks I look like and reminds them of Huey from The Boondocks! Birthname is Malik.

Birthday-July 5, 1984...Cancers rawk!

I also have a daughter by the name of Cionna who will be turning 6 years old on the 10th of this month.

My introduction to writing