DISCUSSION: Who is the better sampler? Hip hop producer vs. Dubstep producer

Discussion in 'Audio Producers Discussions' started by TylerLeeFTW, Jun 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TylerLeeFTW

TylerLeeFTW Tyler Lee

I have always been a hip hop head, and of course sampling in hip hop requires an ear, skill, and music intellect. It was one of the most beautiful aspects about hip hop and arguably the definition of beat-making.

As of recently, I have began to listen Dubstep/DnB/Electronica. I am a total noob when it comes to these genres (I can't even tell the difference between those 3), but I know good music when I hear it, and damn, these producers really know how to utilize their samples in a very unique style compared to the way that hip hop producers do. I have never heard samples flipped like they are in a dubstep track. I will be listening to more and more dubstep in the near future.

What do you guys think? Which producer is better, uses their samples in a better fashion, etc. Leave some feedback!

- Tyler Lee
    test
  2. ddoc619

ddoc619 New Member

dont know but good thread
    test
  3. Eternity

Eternity retired legend

Dubstep is awesome and if you've never made music or touched a music making program it is probably harder at first to make GOOD dubstep than it is to make GOOD hip hop. But hip hop is a much older and more developed genre and has a slightly more diversified and evolved sound than dubstep. In other words, a hip hop producer has to be slightly more flexible than a dubstep producer does presently. For that reason, I'd say being a great hip hop producer is more difficult than being a great dubstep producer presently. As dubstep continues to evolve, however, this could change.