Difference between pop filters...

Discussion in 'Audio Help & Tips' started by ^IT^, Jan 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ^IT^

^IT^ MMC

i know they have like nylon ones and metal ones.. whats the difference between the two.. any body recommend a certain one.. i was thinkin bout coppin the stedmen ps101 or somethin like it... any suggestions?
    test
  2. Xabiton

Xabiton RM Veteran

I dont use Pop filters I use the foam covers that go on the actual mic I forget what theyre called but I hear Nylon Pop Filters are the way to go kuz its better for sound proofing than metal im not an expert but thats what Ive always heard
    test
  3. Magazine

Magazine New Member

always get nylon i actually dont know about any others but i would think nylon is best? i never really got into all the info with pop filter cuz imm its a fucking pop filter lol
    test
  4. Syn 6

Syn 6 back off hiatus

^ yea, they're called windscreens .. thats wut i use currently but i'm goin to be getting a pop filter ..
    test
  5. mic1tharula

mic1tharula 790 verbal

chea pop filters are better than windscreens...unless you are recording in a hurricane. idiots....as far as the nylon v. metal debate, i've heard peopel say metal is better and i've heard people say nylon is better. i've only worked with nylon, and mine works perfectly fine for eliminating plosives without compromising quality.
    test
  6. bigBANKin

bigBANKin crazy

one of my homies has a metal one i dont remember what brand it works aight think he said it was kind of expensive tho
    test
  7. BPINCdef

BPINCdef Renaissance Man

the metal ones are a metal mesh and are said to work better but they cost like 20-30 more so nylon will do just fine
    test
  8. ^IT^

^IT^ MMC

if price didnt matter would you get the nylon or metal?

thats my question because theyre only like 50 dollars the metal mesh ones and thats not a problem.....
    test
  9. Xabiton

Xabiton RM Veteran