Cool Edit/Adobe recording question..

Discussion in 'Audio Emcee Hook Ups' started by JOEXXX, Oct 29, 2013.

  1. JOEXXX

    JOEXXX .......

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,387
    There is a slight latency issue with my Adobe Audition when I'm recording...

    I remember this happening to me years ago and I think there was just one tab I clicked to fix it.

    Anyone know how to fix this issue in my settings?
    test
  2. JOEXXX

    JOEXXX .......

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,387
    By latency issue while recording, I mean I may say something right on a snare but when I play back it's slightly late.
    test
  3. Punches

    Punches a.k.a UH OH

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,059
    Had this same issue a long time ago, let me know if this helps at all:

    Options --> Settings --> Multitrack --> Correct for Drift in Recordings and Correct for Start Sync in Recordings both enabled
    • +Rep +Rep x 1
    test
  4. Cire

    Cire The Peoples Champion

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 1999
    Messages:
    40,196
    it could also be your buffer size....see if what punches said works...if not you might have to edit your buffer...you'd hav to tell us what your recording setup looks like and what software the recording setups using (Not the recording software, but the software that comes with your USB recording joint or whatever it is your using)
    test
  5. JOEXXX

    JOEXXX .......

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,387
    I just got new recording equipment.. Interface, preamp, and mic.. That's when I noticed it. I'll try what you said Punches.. If it doesn't work I'll post some more info to see if y'all can help.

    It's super frustrating.
    test
  6. JOEXXX

    JOEXXX .......

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,387
    @Punches
    @Cire


    I enabled the settings you said to Punches, didn't help :-/

    I hooked another mic up to my interface, without going through the preamp and it was still off.

    So the issue is either my interface or Cool Edit.

    Wish I had a computer mic to plug directly to the computer to test, that way id know if it's cool edit or the interface.

    I have a Scarlett 2i2 interface btw
    test
  7. The_K3

    The_K3 ^Secksi^

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    29,265
    ur computer may also be too slow
    test
  8. Porkchop

    Porkchop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,415
    You can plug an old set of headphones into the mic input on your pc for a makeshift mic

    http://mentalfloss.com/article/28130/using-your-headphones-mic

    How ya been buzzooka JOE? SHEESH HA HA
    test
  9. JOEXXX

    JOEXXX .......

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,387
    Yeah that's what I was thinking.. But I literally have nothing on this computer except cool edit and fruity loops and it's 3 years old.

    I've had other setups and soundcard a that caused no latency issues on this computer. So I'm thinking it's the interface that's the problem.

    Thanks Porkchop. Forgot about using headphones as a mic.
    test
  10. JOEXXX

    JOEXXX .......

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,387
    Just bypassed the interface to test it and had the exact same amount of latency.

    So it's either Cool Edit or my computer, pretty sure I've never had the latency issue before with this computer - so I'm guessing it's CEp.
    test
  11. DefKnotEmo

    DefKnotEmo G.R.G.

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,381
    I had the scarlett 2i4 its nice I just dont know how to mix.
    test
  12. xMetasiNx

    xMetasiNx Met-uh-siN

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    @Cire probably nailed it.

    Buffer issue. Try adjusting it (lower I believe, would remedy your issue).

    I don't use Cool Edit, but it's probably under settings/preferences somewhere...
    test

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)