Compressing The Whole Track?

Discussion in 'Audio Help & Tips' started by Mr. Verbalist, Jan 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. veral conflict

    veral conflict beatsrus

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,402
    umm.. i dont use cool edit, but your statement is incorrect..

    edit>mixdown all waves>then limit the track to your liking..
    test
  2. Xabiton

    Xabiton RM Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    17,221
    ^u missed my point completely. I said mix down the master out channel (as in compressing that channel) which i have yet to see an option for in cool edit. id rather not add the extra step of limiting a track that has been output already clipped
    test
  3. War Machine

    War Machine Sam Antics

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,001
    he mean's there's no master fader in cool edit

    and he's right, there's faders on each individual track, and you can even apply effects in multi track, but, theres no master fader to put the limiter effect on. in pro tools, you can jus throw it on the master fader before dither an call it a day.
    test
  4. Xabiton

    Xabiton RM Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    17,221
    ^on any decent daw u can throw them on the master fader but ive learned to not listen to veral he half knows what hes talkin about lol
    test
  5. War Machine

    War Machine Sam Antics

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,001
    test
  6. Mr. Verbalist

    Mr. Verbalist How am I doin?

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,105
    Dope shit punch.
    test
  7. LiQuiD6

    LiQuiD6 Left hook Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    13,105
    Dustmightz Biatches!
    test
  8. War Machine

    War Machine Sam Antics

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,001
    i knew u had to split the frequencies if u wer guna compress the entire track like that.,.. cool edit would be the last thing i would expect to be able to do it though

    can u do that in pro tools? cuz i dont like cool edits limiter at all
    test
  9. Xabiton

    Xabiton RM Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    17,221
    ^most likely its been awhile since Ive looked at pro tools but if u can chain effects to the master im pretty sure theres an option thru that
    test
  10. how does compression effect any previous EQ operations?
    test
  11. Mr. Verbalist

    Mr. Verbalist How am I doin?

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,105
    I know it can ruin your dynamics. Punch I tried the splitting frequencies in CEP, and I didn't know what the hell I was doing, but I'lll fuck with it.
    test
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)