codecademy.com went live tonight

Discussion in 'Overtime: Off-Topic Discussion' started by reznick, Aug 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reznick

    reznick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,680
    test
  2. Slick Jeronimo

    Slick Jeronimo OTBVA Senator Nominee

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,782
    test
  3. Slick Jeronimo

    Slick Jeronimo OTBVA Senator Nominee

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,782
    there having issues i see...

    hope its not just two guys running the site
    test
  4. reznick

    reznick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,680
    They're getting massive traffic to the site now.


    I'm also experience difficulty going from the first lesson to the second. Only thing for them to do now is to increase bandwidth!




    edit: And reading the "About Us", I think you're dead on in your prediction :funny:

    Their backgrounds look good though.
    test
  5. Slick Jeronimo

    Slick Jeronimo OTBVA Senator Nominee

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,782
    i got to the third lesson realizing i never made an account...

    i tried linking with facebook and all down hill from there...

    hope they fix this cause from what i saw this site can help alot of people
    test
  6. No_regretz

    No_regretz meh

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    i spent 4 years at uni learning to code to get out shined by this.
    test
  7. reznick

    reznick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,680
    regretz you can code?


    and slick, I know... :| I signed up a unique account separate from facebook. I got signed in, but am having trouble advancing courses



    Cant wait till this gets smoothened out



    edit: Yea I think they JUST implemented google sing ins. I think theyre working on the site as we speak, while its popped off with traffic lol
    test
  8. reznick

    reznick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,680
    Hey slick, I keep getting an error when trying to enter

    var myFullName


    Is that the wrong code? I could swear its correct but it keeps giving me an error. This is for "CaSeS" in Lesson 2
    test
  9. D-Lor

    D-Lor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,754
    I was thinking about a site like this the other day
    test
  10. bobbaforce

    bobbaforce I don't give a nada

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    alert("This site rules")
    test
  11. TsirhCitna

    TsirhCitna New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,486
    eh, kind of waiting for hairstylingacademy.com myself
    test
  12. reznick

    reznick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,680
    confirm("Am I a 3?")



    :funny: @ anti
    test
  13. reznick

    reznick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,680
    doh nvm slick


    It wanted it done in 1 move, I was doing the two step method..
    test
  14. Slick Jeronimo

    Slick Jeronimo OTBVA Senator Nominee

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,782
    im stuck on arrays

    its not very clear as far as arrayname goes...
    test
  15. IAmMrGetItDone

    IAmMrGetItDone Mr. Get It Done

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,960
    im comin back to check this later
    test
  16. TEJ2025

    TEJ2025 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    You need an invite to do this? :funny:
    test
  17. codecademy

    codecademy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hey guys, someone sent me this post. I'm one of the people working on Codecademy. We're pushing fixes to registration now (that's why it says "invite" - it should be up in a second) and the site should be loading pretty quickly now. Feel free to email me any feedback - contact (at) codecademy (dot) com. Thanks for everything! -Zach
    test
  18. reznick

    reznick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,680
    Wow great effort in reaching out! I'm sure it's a busy time for you guys.

    Thank you for the excellent service, the site is perfect for what I've been looking for. Already spread this out to a lot of my business associates looking to get a general grasp on coding. Keep up the great work!

    I'm curious if someone from here sent him the link for this thread?


    ---
    - Sent from my iPhone 9 in 2024
    test
  19. codecademy

    codecademy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Nope, nobody sent it. Kept a lookout on Google and the post showed up there. Let me know how else I can help!
    test
  20. MindTaker

    MindTaker GFY

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,922
    What they're doing is great but wouldn't a language like Python or PERL been a better choice to teach people? Just seems like you're pretty limited by what you can do with Java Script. I do applaud them for not choosing Java itself though. The only good thing about Java is MineCraft and browser embedded IRC channels.

    Also, not having "Hello World" print to the screen somehow as the first lesson is pretty much blasphemy.
    test
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)