1100$ Is My Spending Limit, This Is The Custom Computer I'm Buliding 4 Audio

Discussion in 'Audio Help & Tips' started by PHENOMENON, Feb 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. auddasea

    auddasea Im'a dope Producer !!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    612
    Smh@ arcane....

    thats why I said drop the monitor...Save the 150.00 and get a sicker fuckin processor...

    You obviously aint read what I said...

    and no you aint get a bad or "Whack" computer....
    coulda just got it for a BETTER price...
    which is what I was tryina help you do...

    oh and windows vista sucks for applications...they aint fix the 64bit bug yet

    -Audd
    test
  2. Arcane

    Arcane Alcoholic Roadie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,894
    dells site wouldn't let me take the monitor off or upgrade the processor....
    test
  3. auddasea

    auddasea Im'a dope Producer !!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    612
    Go to the monitor option in customize...
    Scroll down to the bottom ..."No Monitor - Subtract 180.00$"

    These are the specs I came up with for 969.00$

    AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core 5200+ [Included in Price]
    2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz- 2DIMMs [Included in Price]
    Dell Recommended for an enhanced Windows Vista experience
    160GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™ [Included in Price]
    128MB ATI Radeon X1300 [Included in Price]
    No Monitor [Included in Price]
    Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio [Included in Price]

    $969
    As low as $30/month2



    So Arcane....you were saying about dells ?
    test
  4. Arcane

    Arcane Alcoholic Roadie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,894
    meh, they're still garbage for anything not low-end

    i guess they've gotten better since I last went pc shopping....6 years ago lol
    test
  5. auddasea

    auddasea Im'a dope Producer !!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    612
    lol yes I'm glad we both agree there ass for NOT low-end...
    To bad they dont sell Macs for 969.00...

    lmao@ 6 yrs ago...yeh... that would make a difference homie...
    test
  6. Arcane

    Arcane Alcoholic Roadie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,894
    yeah now i just buy all surplus parts off ebay whenever i want an upgrade

    fuck paying someone else to put it together for me lol...
    test
  7. auddasea

    auddasea Im'a dope Producer !!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    612
    Smart guy you are...
    Ebay = a corporations worst nightmare ...
    Im surprised guitar center hasn't gone out of business yet haha...
    test
  8. doctah

    doctah I know how to do that...

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,748
    I apologize for the long post here...

    Yeah...cuz all the professional designers are going to skip the precision workstations (that only use intel stuff) for a $250 dimension.
    link

    Again...go look up any comparison. I'm not going to play the fanboy shit...but you will not find any current comparison that has amd ahead right now. They will probably come back with their next major product...but the current Core 2 Duo's > current x2's

    What's your point? That processor hasn't been that expensive for months. Do you know what you're looking at? Do you realize the 939 based processor you posted probably isn't being manufactured any longer? The socket AM2 chip that replaced it has a going price of ~$160. That's like telling someone to go buy a 478 motherboard and processor (ie. Doesn't make any sense). Hell...if you're willing to spend near $500 on that chip, I have a great socket 370 AMD I'll sell you for only $200. It was $400 back in the day!

    The $400 dude was spending was for 4gb of RAM not 2gb.

    More importantly, with the dell, you can only make assumptions on the price of each component. You can say "I'm only paying $150 more for 2gb of RAM as opposed to 1GB", but realize you're not paying $150 for 2gb of RAM, you're paying 150 more than you were paying for 512mb of RAM.

    Example: I'm on dells site setting up a sempron based system. If I want to change from 512mb to 2gb (two x 1gb sticks), its +190. Not $190 for the RAM, but +190 to the total. But if I want to change from 512mb to 4gb (four x 1gb sticks), it's +460 (as opposed to +380 that would make sense). So you end up paying +80 just because...

    So if we makes some assumptions, we can try to figure out how much 1 stick of 1gb RAM cost. Going from one 512mb stick to two 512mb sticks costs +60. So a 512mb stick is $60. So going +190 to two 1gb sticks or +460 to four 1gb sticks, we can assume the price of the RAM is $250/2gb or $520/4gb. So you would be paying $125-130 per 1gb stick of no-name DDR2 533 (in my example). Someone can check my math...but that is a horrible deal.

    Yes...the dell is cheaper if you're paying for a copy of windows - but I'd personally spend a few extra $ so I'd know exactly what's going in my system.

    You say that like "nforce" is a motherboard brand...wtf?
    test
  9. Arcane

    Arcane Alcoholic Roadie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,894
    i buy everything off ebay

    if it comes broken i get my money back, fix what i got and either use it or resell it hahah

    fuck paying retail price for anything
    test
  10. Infamous-J

    Infamous-J O.G.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,560
    Get a dual-core proccesor.....
    test
  11. Syntax_Mastery

    Syntax_Mastery Emcee/Producer/Engineer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,891
    windows vista has convinced me to go mac with my next computer.
    test
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)